Poetry Blog by Alan Gillott

Recent Comments

Alan Gillott on Neophyte (Thu, 10 Nov 2011 06:35 pm)

Cynthia Buell Thomas on Neophyte (Thu, 10 Nov 2011 04:46 pm)

M.C. Newberry on Neophyte (Thu, 10 Nov 2011 04:23 pm)

Moon invited to launch of Pressed by Unseen Feet

entry picture

The August Blue Moon has been invited to the launch of Pressed by Unseen Feet, an anthology of poetry and short stories on the theme of the spectral unexpected. The evening is hosted by the Hotel du Vin in their courtyard with the sliding roof. Everyone is welcome. There is a small charge of £6 which includes a copy of the anthology and opportunity to hear Newcastle based singers, Skylark Song.

...

Read and leave comments (0)

AnthologyBlue MoonGhostsLaunchSkylark Song

Feria - A Spanish Comedy

entry picture

Feria - A Spanish Comedy by N.E. David made it as our first ebook. This is a lovely book in the wonderful tradition of Clochmerle but set in Spain rather than very rural France. It has all the ingredients, Fiesta, Terrorism, Paella, Love, Lust, lashings of booze, and cracking good read.

To buy in the UK visit http://amzn.to/Lk280v

To buy in the US visit http://amzn.to/NpUiAZ

Read and leave comments (0)

ComedyEBookFeriaHumourLoveSpain

Our Ghost Anthology is at last ready to go

entry picture

Well, content done, cover done just need to find an English printer who won't mess it up! Note that 'mess' was not my first choice of word. The title is 'Pressed by Unseen Feet' taken from TS Elliot's To Walter de la Mare' . The cover is by York artist Richard Barnes.

We are thinking of Launching it on the August Blue Moon.  

Read and leave comments (0)

AnthologyBlogGhostPublisherStairwell Books

Beyond the Window

entry picture

Selflish self promotion but this is a not to missed event for fans of Bush and McCluskey so that when they have their rightful International fame you will be able to say: "I saw Bush and McCluskey before they were famous". Oh, and there will be great supporting poetry from Rose Drew, Pauline Kirk, John Gilham and Edd Caine.

 

All at the Lion and Lamb, 7pm, 4 High Petergate, York - and c...

Read and leave comments (0)

More day to day stuff

entry picture

The weekend was spent drafting an assortment of press releases that will be completely ignored and designing the cover for Dream Catcher 25. Cover design is always frustrating especially when using multiple tools. You know, the spanner is metric, the nut imperial, and I never have just the right Allen key to assemble the final flatpack. Whatever I tried the cover ended up pixelated and blurry: ...

Read and leave comments (0)

York Poet Rose Drew named No. Nine in Top Twenty Individual Collections for 2011

entry picture

And, of course, I cannot forget my own dear spouse...

York poet Rose Drew has been named No. nine in the Top Twenty Best Individual Collections of 2011 with her book Temporary Safety. Rose, who is widely published and who has won a number of awards for her work including the 2010 Malton Poetry Competition, is in demand for readings throughout England and North America. Her material is drawn...

Read and leave comments (0)

Purple PatchRose DrewTemporary SafetyTop 10Top 20

Congratulations to Tim Ellis

entry picture

Congratulations to Tim Ellis on his Gringo on the Chickenbus being named in the Top 20 Individual Collections of 2011 by the Purple Patch. Tim has won a number of slams with this material and his being noticed is well deserved. This book which is a collaberation between Tim and his partner Robbie Burns is well worth owning.

Link to Tim's WoL profile

Read and leave comments (0)

Neophyte

entry picture

Blogging is a new experience: I've read other's blogs with varying degrees of apathy and fascination and still wonder, with everyone and their aunt, (or uncle for those of a PC disposition), why any particular blog is any more exciting or interesting than another.

I am a poet, singer, composer (of the classical variety), run with my wife an open mike in York (www.yorkspokenword.org.uk) and ...

Read and leave comments (3)

AmazonBlogOpen MikePublisher

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Find out more Hide this message