Alice Oswald wins £5,000 Costa poetry prize

entry picture

Alice Oswald has won the £5,000 Costa poetry award with her seventh collection, Falling Awake, it was announced on Tuesday night. The collection is said to focus on life’s losing struggle with the gravity of nature. Oswald is known for her interest in gardening, ecology, and music. Her second collection, Dart, was the result of years of research into the history, environment and community of the river Dart in Devon. Other collections include Woods, etc; Weeds and Wild Flowers; A Sleepwalk on the Severn; and Memorial. Falling Awake has also been shortlisted for the Forward and TS Eliot prizes. Others on the all-female Costa poetry shortlist were Kate Tempest, Melissa Lee-Houghton, and Denise Riley. 


◄ Niall Campbell to judge £500 Interpreter's House competition

'The carbon cycle' by Alex Smith is Write Out Loud Poem of the Week ►


Profile image

Dominic James

Fri 13th Jan 2017 15:45

yeh I think she' very good, I read Memorial and thought it was spot on.

Profile image

David Blake

Sat 7th Jan 2017 00:42

Well deserved. A future Poet Laureate in the making.

Profile image

Greg Freeman

Thu 5th Jan 2017 00:52

That's just how it panned out this year, MC.

Profile image

M.C. Newberry

Wed 4th Jan 2017 17:37

It interests me that the Costa list referred to should be "all
female". How so?

If you wish to post a comment you must login.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Find out more Hide this message