Donations are essential to keep Write Out Loud going    

Poetry Book Society announces £20,000 TS Eliot Prize shortlist

entry picture

The Poetry Book Society has announced the shortlist for the 2014 TS Eliot Prize. It includes three poets who were on this year’s Forward shortlist for best collection – John Burnside, Louise Glück, and Hugo Williams, and two - Fiona Benson and Kevin Powers - who were on the Forward list for best first collection. Here is the full TS Eliot shortlist: Fiona Benson - Bright Travellers (Jonathan Cape); John Burnside - All One Breath (Jonathan Cape); Louise Glück - Faithful and Virtuous Night (Carcanet); David Harsent - Fire Songs (Faber); Michael Longley -  The Stairwell (Jonathan Cape); Ruth Padel - Learning to Make an Oud in Nazareth (Chatto & Windus); Pascale Petit - Fauverie (Seren); Kevin Powers - Letter Composed During a Lull in the Fighting (Sceptre); Arundhathi Subramaniam - When God is a Traveller (Bloodaxe); Hugo Williams - I Knew the Bride (Faber).

It is the 50th anniversary of Eliot’s death on 4 January 2015, and the poet’s estate is marking this by increasing the value of the prize this year by £5,000 to £20,000. The estate is also taking on full sponsorship of the award. A three-year deal with the investment-management firm Aurum Funds sparked controversy in 2011, when the poets John Kinsella and Alice Oswald withdrew themselves from the prize’s shortlist in protest.

The judges are Helen Dunmore (chair), Sean Borodale, and Fiona Sampson. More details 


◄ 'Keeping the voices alive': poetry show's producer on The Hundred Years' War

Two poets share £10,000 Manchester Writing Competition prize ►

Please consider supporting us

Donations from our supporters are essential to keep Write Out Loud going


No comments posted yet.

If you wish to post a comment you must login.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Find out more Hide this message