profile image

Gordon Hoyles

Email: gordywordy@icloud.com
Web: www.gordonhoyles.com
Twitter: @GordonHoyles
Updated: Sun, 19 Nov 2017 10:31 am

Contact via WOL

URL:

Biography

Autobiography. Born to the undergrowth. Perhaps unforgivable. It wasn't their fault. Mother said, "That's a bit of a bastard",and tried to pretend I wasn't there, nothing to do with her. Blind to the insistence of ignorance I failed to recognise my position. Shy to claim. Shy to say poet. Just a stack of time trying to find out. Which brings me up to date, to now. Biography. Not just a list of dates and facts. Listen to a recording on his website. A regular performer in the late '70's and '80's funded by the National Poetry Secretariat to do readings, he took time out from writing for 20years to run a business and concentrate on design. Out of that now, he's back writing every day. He wows audiences with his different ideas, surprising, inspiring and sometimes even outrageous; clever and funny. He's a complete natural.Well-read, intelligent,creative. Performances - Hebden Bridge, Leeds, Edinburgh, Leamington Spa, Colne, Lancaster, Rochdale, Hastings, Ealing, Corby, Norwich, Ipswich, Harwich, Doncaster, Dundee, Manchester, Bangor, Ilkley and so on. If you want to host an event which will be remembered afterwards, hire him. He won't disappoint.

Samples

"I'll settle your trouble said the pin to the bubble, and little hearts break so easy. There's a real long so-long in every nuclear bomb, and little hearts break so easy. Need the water drink the flame we can play a different game 'cos little hearts break so easy. from 'Roll of the Artist' publication. Wednesday 13th September 2017. That liquid desert, the sea, was very playful this morning. Big waves, little tsunami after little tsunami, lifting and dropping,bobbing us up and down like corks. Cold, loose and wild, though intimate, fitting like a skin. Cuddling, supportive,friendlier than the wind which bites and doesn't stop to talk. Eternal Triangle "Schhh.....Schhh.....Schhhhhhh........I'm sweeping," says the brush trying to sneak up on the muck. But the muck responds by rising in wisps, hanging placidly gaining protection till the brush is choked and rests a while. And the ground doesn't care for the brush, though it doesn't so much hear as feel the shush. Then the shovel's there with crackling grind cursing the brush for scaring the muck, for it can't scoop what's gone to the air. And the ground doesn't care for the shovel for it feels it's hatred for the brush. And after this row the foolish brush goes, "Schhh.....Schhhh.....," onward as the muck settles. And the ground loves the muck, comforting her from shocks and keeping out the cold. But Schhhhhhhhh.......don't tell the brush for if the ground doesn't love him, who does? It isn't the shovel, nor is it the muck, and the brush would be pained knowing the ground's not struck. Gordon Hoyles.

All poems are copyright of the originating author. Permission must be obtained before using or performing others' poems.

Calendar

Upcoming Month Week Day

Left Arrow December 2017 Right Arrow

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
Wk 48
26
1 event
27
1 event
28
1 event
29
1 event
30
1 event
1
1 event
2
1 event
Wk 49
3
1 event
4
1 event
5
1 event
6
1 event
7
1 event
8
1 event
9
1 event
Wk 50
10
1 event
11
1 event
12
1 event
13
1 event
14
1 event
15
1 event
16
1 event
Wk 51
17
1 event
18
1 event
19
1 event
20
1 event
21
1 event
22
1 event
23
1 event
Wk 52
24
1 event
25
1 event
26
1 event
27
1 event
28
1 event
29
1 event
30
1 event
Wk 01
31
1 event
1
1 event
2
1 event
3
1 event
4
1 event
5
1 event
6
1 event

Displaying 31 events (1 Dec 2017 to 31 Dec 2017)

Hover over an event to see the details. (Open Mic open mic event, WOL Write Out Loud event)

Friday 01 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Saturday 02 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Sunday 03 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Monday 04 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Tuesday 05 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Wednesday 06 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Thursday 07 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Friday 08 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Saturday 09 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Sunday 10 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Monday 11 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Tuesday 12 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Wednesday 13 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Thursday 14 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Friday 15 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Saturday 16 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Sunday 17 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Monday 18 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Tuesday 19 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Wednesday 20 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Thursday 21 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Friday 22 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Saturday 23 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Sunday 24 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Monday 25 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Tuesday 26 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Wednesday 27 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Thursday 28 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Friday 29 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Saturday 30 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Sunday 31 December 2017

Internet/radio » 2pm & 10pm & 6am

Viewed 983 times since 05 Oct 2017

Do you want to be featured here? Submit your profile.

Comments

Profile image

Richard Hartley

Fri 6th Oct 2017 13:43

Hi Gordon
Good to see you on this site!
Looking forward to hearing more of your wonderful poetry in The Red Lion, Manningtree, on Tuesday evening.
Best wishes
Richard

View all comments

If you wish to post a comment you must login.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Find out more Hide this message