TS Eliot shortlist announced as prize is increased to £25,000

entry picture

Ocean Vuong, who recently won the Forward prize winner for best first collection, has been included in the 2017 shortlist for the TS Eliot prize, which has been increased to £25,000 to mark the 25th anniversary of the award, the Poetry Book Society announced on Thursday.

Judges Bill Herbert (chair), James Lasdun and Helen Mort picked their list from a record 154 poetry collections submitted by publishers. The shortlist, which includes four titles published by Cape Poetry, and three by Carcanet, is:

Tara Bergin, The Tragic Death of Eleanor Marx (Carcanet); Caroline Bird, In these Days of Prohibition (Carcanet); Douglas Dunn, The Noise of a Fly (Faber & Faber); Leontia Flynn, The Radio (Cape); Roddy Lumsden, So Glad I’m Me (Bloodaxe); Michael Symmons Roberts, Mancunia (Cape); Robert Minhinnick, Diary of the Last Man (Carcanet); James Sheard, The Abandoned Settlements (Cape); Jacqueline Saphra, All My Mad Mothers (Nine Arches Press); Ocean Vuong, Night Sky with Exit Wounds (Cape).

The TS Eliot prize shortlist readings will be on Sunday 14 January 2018 in Southbank Centre’s Royal Festival Hall. The winner will be announced at the award ceremony on 15 January.


Background: Steven Waling reviews Ocean Vuong

Background: Jacqueline Saphra blogs about 'All My Mad Mothers'







◄ 'My arms grown taut with the thought of that wind'

In Person: World Poets, DVD-anthology, Bloodaxe ►


No comments posted yet.

If you wish to post a comment you must login.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Find out more Hide this message