Donations are essential to keep Write Out Loud going    

New Foyle Young Poets winners named on National Poetry Day

entry picture

The top 15 winners of the Foyle Young Poets of the Year award were announced on Thursday 8 October, National Poetry Day, at a special prizegiving ceremony at the Royal Festival Hall at London’s Southbank Centre.  The winners are: Gaia-Rose Harper, 14, Shrewsbury; Sophia Tait, 14, Livingston; Sophia Carney, 15, London; Magnus Dixon, 15, Aberdeenshire; Eira Murphy, 15, Liverpool; Ella Standage, 15, Greenwich, south-east London; Apollo, 15, Berkshire; Ian Macartney, 16, Linlithgow; Ben Read, 16, Washington, US; Allie Spensley, 16, Ohio, US; Riona Miller, 16, London; Jack Sagar, 17, Preston; Maud Mullan, 17, London; Kajol Marathe, 17, Hertfordshire; Jonathan Stone, 17, Maidenhead. Each poet is invited to attend a week’s residential creative writing course at an Arvon centre or receive a poet residency in their school (age dependent). The judges were Liz Berry and Michael Symmons Roberts. Foyle Young Poets of the Year is the largest  award for young poets aged 11-17 writing original works in English. The competition is free to enter and poems can be on any theme, and of any length. Winners are published in an anthology, and benefit from a range of professional development opportunities offered by the Poetry Society. Foyle winners are also offered paid internships, and editorial opportunities via the Poetry Society’s online platform the Young Poets Network.

◄ Search is on for poems to form poetry trail in Huddersfield park

Black Country hosts National Dialect Weekend with poetry, stories, and music ►

Please consider supporting us

Donations from our supporters are essential to keep Write Out Loud going


No comments posted yet.

If you wish to post a comment you must login.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

Find out more Hide this message