profile image

The Price of Freedom-(extended version)

A ghostly image of a soldier

stood in the background,

as a mother with a babe in her

arms stood by a grave site.

 

She lowly whispered, "Father

this is your son. Son this is your

father. He gave his life so that

others might live."

 

Now she is alone, but she

will survive. She will raise

this child without the aid

of others. This child will

...

Read and leave comments (2)

Tags: family,strength,War Poetry

The Price of Freedom

Loading the player…

A ghostly image of a soldier

stood in the background,

as a mother with a babe in her

arms stood by a grave site.

 

She lowly whispered, "Father

this is your son. Son this is your

father. He gave his life so that

others might live."

Read and leave comments (1)

Tags: Death,family,military,war poetry

Filter Tag

War Poetry (Remove)

Previous Entries

  • 2011 (2)

Recent Comments

Daniel Dwyran on Good Bye My Old Friend (3 days ago)

Dominic James on Brevette Poems (Second Edition) (Sat, 3 May 2014 03:46:29 pm)

John Coopey on Brevette Poems (Second Edition) (Sun, 20 Apr 2014 01:48:17 pm)

M.C. Newberry on The Tall Green Grass (Fri, 18 Apr 2014 04:33:38 pm)

Isobel on Brevette Poems (Second Edition) (Thu, 17 Apr 2014 09:21:53 am)

M.C. Newberry on Brevette Poems (Fri, 21 Mar 2014 02:02:32 am)

Neil West on Two Line Horror(ible) Story (Wed, 19 Mar 2014 09:58:24 pm)

John Coopey on My Imagination? 99 word horror story (Wed, 5 Mar 2014 08:07:56 pm)

Solar Winds on The Mirror (Sat, 25 Jan 2014 05:16:05 pm)

Solar Winds on The Mirror (Sat, 25 Jan 2014 05:16:04 pm)

Nigel Astell on The Mirror (Wed, 22 Jan 2014 01:58:23 pm)

Lady Ha Ha on The Sea Haiku (Tue, 14 Jan 2014 08:49:43 pm)

Dave Bradley on The Sea Haiku (Tue, 14 Jan 2014 07:36:57 pm)

John Coopey on Ninety one Word Story of My Life (Fri, 29 Nov 2013 09:58:30 pm)

Ged Thompson on Ninety one Word Story of My Life (Wed, 27 Nov 2013 02:24:28 am)