profile image

Here's a poem from notebook 40, the 2nd in fact...

40/2

 

Low-lying cloud,

sheep’s wool snagged on wire,

rain washed.

 

Plantation trees plain stitched

across the hills’

ribbed sleeve.

 

Black holes punched in grey

the stippled lake

but no breeze.

 

Bird-calls; not song.

Make no mistake.

No-one sings here

among the evergreens along

the water’s edge.

 

Onl...

Read and leave comments (7)

Tags: autumn,loss,nature,poem

Filter Tag

poem (Remove)

Previous Entries

  • 2012 (1)

Recent Comments

Yvonne Brunton on Ullswater Requiem (7) (Sun, 13 May 2012 06:08:38 pm)

Yvonne Brunton on Ullswater Requiem (2) (Fri, 4 May 2012 09:57:48 pm)

ray miller on Ullswater Requiem (2) (Fri, 4 May 2012 08:49:55 pm)

Chris Co on Ullswater Requiem (1) (Fri, 4 May 2012 11:48:42 am)

Roy Chetham on Ullswater Requiem (1) (Fri, 4 May 2012 11:30:56 am)

ray miller on Ullswater Requiem (1) (Thu, 3 May 2012 01:16:44 pm)

Yvonne Brunton on All Things Are Connected (Thu, 19 Apr 2012 11:55:54 pm)

Tommy Carroll on All Things Are Connected (Thu, 19 Apr 2012 11:26:19 pm)

Mike Smith on and the next one is..... (Tue, 17 Apr 2012 07:02:49 pm)

M.C. Newberry on and the next one is..... (Mon, 16 Apr 2012 07:15:37 pm)

steve pottinger on and the next one is..... (Mon, 16 Apr 2012 09:16:22 am)

Yvonne Brunton on and the next one is..... (Sun, 15 Apr 2012 07:52:25 pm)

Innocentia Sithole on A different sort of poem..... (Fri, 13 Apr 2012 07:49:58 pm)

steve pottinger on A different sort of poem..... (Thu, 12 Apr 2012 05:29:52 pm)

Nick Clifton on A different sort of poem..... (Mon, 9 Apr 2012 11:29:08 am)

Feeds

Subscribe feed icon