The cruet set

 

I never really knew my mother’s father.

All I remember: tuft of nostril hair,

spied from sitting on his knee; and a hoard

of half-hidden threepenny pieces

slipped into a sandpit outside the lido.

 

In pictures he looks a kind, fair man.

Worked for his only firm from 16 to 61.

Received a wedding cruet set in 1922,

inscribed "from members and friends" at ...

Read and leave comments (11)

Tags: Family silver

Filter Tag

Family silver (Remove)

Previous Entries

  • 2012 (1)

Recent Comments

Rose Casserley on Murder mile (Sat, 30 May 2015 11:46:17 am)

steve black on Murder mile (Fri, 29 May 2015 01:15:34 pm)

Cynthia Buell Thomas on Murder mile (Fri, 29 May 2015 11:49:16 am)

Harry O'Neill on Murder mile (Thu, 28 May 2015 11:34:35 pm)

Greg Freeman on Murder mile (Thu, 28 May 2015 05:09:40 pm)

John Coopey on Murder mile (Wed, 27 May 2015 11:23:59 pm)

Harry O'Neill on The Oldies (Sun, 15 Mar 2015 09:11:42 pm)

Greg Freeman on The Oldies (Sun, 15 Mar 2015 12:06:27 am)

Tommy Carroll on The Oldies (Sat, 14 Mar 2015 07:27:13 pm)

Greg Freeman on The Oldies (Thu, 12 Mar 2015 05:38:00 pm)

jack purvis on The Oldies (Wed, 11 Mar 2015 08:46:40 am)

John Coopey on The Oldies (Mon, 9 Mar 2015 09:01:13 pm)

M.C. Newberry on The Oldies (Mon, 9 Mar 2015 12:59:55 pm)

John Bastard on New Year's Eve, Tewkesbury (Sun, 1 Mar 2015 10:00:20 am)

Jeff Dawson on New Year's Eve, Tewkesbury (Mon, 9 Feb 2015 02:07:17 pm)

Feeds

RSS feed icon