profile image

Metropolis

Loading the player…

 

Somewhere, the 9 till 5 office worker stops me with a deadpan stare,
Fixes me with the times of timetables passed, the graph paper squares
Of tomorrow’s schedule. The high-rise offices never bother to look down.

I never liked the city.

Never really cared
for the city’s callousness, its daily suicide,
the shadow at the top of each building that watches with certainty.

C...

Read and leave comments (1)

Tags: city,despair,Greek Myth,medusa,poem,poems,poetry

Filter Tag

medusa (Remove)

Previous Entries

  • 2012 (1)

Recent Comments

winston plowes on Mill Music (Thu, 23 Aug 2012 11:51:06 pm)

Charlotte Henson on Mill Music (Wed, 22 Aug 2012 04:36:38 pm)

stella jones on Mill Music (Wed, 22 Aug 2012 11:04:29 am)

Thaumaturgically Charged on Mill Music (Wed, 22 Aug 2012 12:23:49 am)

Isobel on Mill Music (Tue, 21 Aug 2012 09:38:40 pm)

Anthony Emmerson on Mill Music (Tue, 21 Aug 2012 06:34:34 pm)

Laura Taylor on Mill Music (Tue, 21 Aug 2012 09:22:01 am)

Katie Haigh on Metropolis (Tue, 31 Jan 2012 02:31:21 pm)

andy n on Winter, Blinded (Tue, 27 Dec 2011 10:18:33 am)

Philipos on Winter, Blinded (Fri, 23 Dec 2011 04:33:39 pm)

winston plowes on Something is Coming (Sun, 27 Nov 2011 10:38:35 pm)

Elaine Booth on Something is Coming (Tue, 1 Nov 2011 09:50:26 pm)

martin rimmington on Something is Coming (Wed, 26 Oct 2011 11:05:08 am)

Larisa Rzhepishevska on Something is Coming (Fri, 21 Oct 2011 09:01:38 pm)

andy n on Something is Coming (Fri, 21 Oct 2011 07:16:11 pm)